Landscape Architect and Urban Planner ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA ∙ Emeritus of Excellence TUM Prof. em. Peter Latz

Prof. em. Peter Latz

Practice Founder & Senior Director
Landscape Architect and Urban Planner ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA ∙ Emeritus of Excellence TUM

Peter Latz lives and works with his wife Anneliese in Kranzberg near Munich, Germany. In 2011, they decided to hand over the office to the younger generation, but he still continues to share his expert knowledge, experience and passion to the design team.
For almost 50 years, he led and shaped most of the office’s projects not only in the design phase, but also during implementation on site (and more recently with his son Tilman).

From the beginning, he was deeply interested in planning, teaching and researching in the idea of ecological urban renewal connected to alternative environmental technologies. Since the 1980s, Peter Latz’s work has focused on the reclamation and conversion of former industrialized landscapes and the humanization of infrastructure. He received international recognition with the multiple-award-winning project Landscape Park Duisburg Nord, the metamorphosis of the former Thyssen ironworks into a 230 ha people’s park and vivid part of the city.

Current projects in the European quarter of Luxembourg and in Israel – Ariel Sharon Park and Hiriya Landfill Rehabilitation prove his methodical approach and his ability to develop new expressive forms of contemporary environmental design.

Peter received the 2017 Premio Cagliaripaesaggio, the 2016 IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award, the 2014 Friedrich-Ludwig-von-Sckell Ring of Honour and the 2013 TOPOS Landscape Award for his life’s work. In 2010, he was awarded the Green Good Design People Award for being “a leader, pioneer and innovator in Green Design.” Awards for his most significant and best-known work, the landscape park Duisburg Nord, include the Grande Médaille d’Urbanisme (2001) and the first European Prize for Landscape Architecture Rosa Barba (2000).
In 2016, Peter and Anneliese Latz were awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

Peter Latz graduated from the Technical University of Munich as a landscape architect and completed his studies in 1968 after a postgraduate research and studio work in urban planning at the RWTH Aachen. He established in the same year the landscape architecture and planning office with his wife Anneliese. The studio moved with him during his teaching career: 1974 in Kassel and 1988 in Upper Bavaria.
Peter started his academic career in 1968 as a lecturer at the Academie van Bouwkunst in Maastricht, Netherlands. He was appointed as full professor at the University Kassel in 1973. From 1983 until 2008, he held the landscape architecture and planning chair at the Technical University Munich and left as an Emeritus of Excellence. Peter has been also teaching and lecturing worldwide. He was an adjunct professor at the University of Pennsylvania for many years and a visiting professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

The quintessence of his theses, research and practical work might be his legacy. His book RUST RED – the landscape park Duisburg Nord was published by Hirmer, Munich in November 2016.

<<

Landschaftsarchitekt und Stadtplaner ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA ∙ Emeritus of Excellence TUM Prof. em. Peter Latz

Prof. em. Peter Latz

Practice Founder & Senior Director
Landschaftsarchitekt und Stadtplaner ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA ∙ Emeritus of Excellence TUM

Peter Latz lebt und arbeitet zusammen mit seiner Frau Anneliese in Kranzberg. Das gemeinsame Büro wurde 2011 an die jüngere Generation weitergegeben, seine Erfahrung und sein Engagement sind jedoch weiterhin präsent.

In fast 50 Jahren Planungstätigkeit hat Peter Latz an den meisten Projekten von Latz + Partner als leitender Planer gearbeitet und sie geprägt, seit 2001 gemeinsam mit seinem Sohn Tilman; dies nicht nur in der Entwurfsphase, sondern auch während des Bauens direkt am Ort selbst.
Ein Hauptinteresse in Planung, Lehre und Forschung gilt von Anbeginn einer wissenschaftlich fundierten ökologischen Stadterneuerung und damit Themen alternativer Umwelttechnologien. Seit Beginn der Achtzigerjahre liegt ein Fokus seiner Arbeit auf der Nachnutzung altindustrieller Standorte und der Humanisierung von Infrastruktur. Mit dem mehrfach ausgezeichneten Projekt Landschaftspark Duisburg Nord, der Metamorphose des Hochofenwerks Meiderich und seiner Umgebung in einen 230 ha großen innerstädtischen Park, wurde er weltweit bekannt. Für seinen methodischen Ansatz und die Fähigkeit, neue expressive Formen einer zeitgemäßen und nachhaltigen Planung zu entwickeln, sprechen die noch laufenden Projekte in der Europastadt Kirchberg, Luxembourg und die Arbeiten am Ariel Sharon Park und der Hiriya Landfill Rehabilitation in Israel.

Peter Latz erhielt für sein Lebenswerk 2017 den Premio Cagliaripaesaggio, 2016 den IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award, 2014 den Friedrich-Ludwig-von Sckell-Ehrenring, 2013 den TOPOS Landscape Award und 2010 den Green Good Design People Award “for being a leader, pioneer and innovator in Green Design”. 2001 wurde sein bekanntestes und wichtigstes Werk, der Landschaftspark Duisburg Nord mit der Grande Médaille d’Urbanisme und 2000 mit dem ersten Europäischen Preis für Landschaftsarchitektur Rosa Barba ausgezeichnet.
Das Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) zeichnete Peter Latz und seine Partnerin Anneliese Latz 2016 mit der Verleihung der Honorary Fellowship aus.

Peter Latz machte sein Diplom in Landschaftsarchitektur an der Technischen Universität München und schloss seine Ausbildung 1968 nach einem Aufbaustudium in Stadtplanung an der RWTH Aachen ab. Im gleichen Jahr gründete er zusammen mit seiner Frau Anneliese das Büro für Landschaftsarchitektur, das, mit Verzögerung, den Stationen seiner Lehrtätigkeit folgte: 1974 nach Kassel und 1988 nach Oberbayern.
Seine akademische Karriere begann Peter Latz 1968 als Lehrbeauftragter an der Academie van Bouwkunst Maastricht. 1973 wurde er ordentlicher Professor an der Universität Kassel, 1983 wurde er auf den Lehrstuhl für Landschaftsarchitektur und Planung an der Technischen Universität München berufen, den er nach 25 Jahren als Emeritus of Excellence verließ.
Peter Latz war auch in der Lehre weltweit tätig, er war Gastprofessor in Harvard und für viele Jahre Adjunct Professor an der University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Die Qintessenz seiner Thesen, seiner Forschung und praktischen Arbeit ist wohl auch sein Vermächtnis: sein Buch ROSTROT – der Landschaftspark Duisburg Nord, publiziert bei Hirmer, München, im November 2016.

<<