Landscape Architect ByAK Sonja Hlawna

Sonja Hlawna

Senior Associate
Landscape Architect ByAK

Sonja Hlawna has been a member of the team since 1997.
Her wide spectrum of expertise in both small and large-scale projects ranges from project design of squares and parks – including production information and operation on site during construction – to urban planning and spatial landscape planning. Furthermore, she has in-depth knowledge on the subject of accessibility in open spaces.

Her excellent language skills have led to a focus on projects in English-speaking countries. In 2006/2007, she was project leader for the masterplan and approval planning for the regeneration of Crystal Palace Park in London. In 2008, Sonja was responsible for a report on the design of the Lower Lea Valley Park as well as the Barnard Park competition in London, which won first prize. She and three of her colleagues moved to Manchester for half a year in 2012 to manage the St. Peter’s Square project on site.
She is currently leading an ambitious project in Luxembourg: the development of the former industrial site Schmelz Dudelange into a new urban quarter.

Sonja also applies her many skills in project management and production information in a national context: she implemented the design for the Wetterwechsel temporary exhibition garden at the Federal Garden Show Munich 2005, which alongside its special material Jurassic marble offered a climatic “mist experience”. From 2002 to 2009 she fronted the design for a new access at the Dachau concentration camp memorial. She was also responsible for the conversion that ensures accessibility to this special site in late 2014.

Sonja earned her Landscape Architecture diploma from the Technische Universit√§t M√ľnchen in 1996.

<<

Landschaftsarchitektin ByAK Sonja Hlawna

Sonja Hlawna

Senior Associate
Landschaftsarchitektin ByAK

Sonja Hlawna unterstützt unser Team seit 1997.
Ihr breites Kompetenzspektrum im kleinen wie im großen Maßstab reicht von der Objektplanung verschiedener Plätze und Parks – inklusive Ausführungsplanung und Bauoberleitung – bis hin zu städtebaulichen und landschaftsräumlichen Planungen. Zudem verfügt sie über ein fundiertes Fachwissen rund um das Thema “Barrierefreiheit im Außenraum”.

Aufgrund ihrer sehr guten Englisch-Kenntnisse hat sich während ihrer langjährigen Mitarbeit ein Schwerpunkt für Projekte im englischsprachigen Raum entwickelt. So leitete sie 2006/07 die Masterplanung inklusive Genehmigungsplanung für die Inwertsetzung des Crystal Palace Parks in London, 2008 eine Studie zur Gestaltung des Lower Lea Valley Parks sowie den mit dem ersten Preis ausgezeichneten Wettbewerb Barnard Park, beide ebenfalls in London. 2012 übersiedelte sie zusammen mit drei ihrer Kollegen für ein halbes Jahr nach Manchester, um als Projektleiterin die Neugestaltung des St. Peter’s Square vor Ort zu betreuen.
Aktuell arbeitet sie als Projektleiterin an der Entwicklung des früheren Industriestandortes Neischmelz Dudelange in Luxemburg zu einem neuen Stadtquartier.

Ihre vielseitigen Kompetenzen in Projektmanagement und Objektplanung bringt Sonja auch im nationalen Kontext ein: Im Rahmen der BUGA 2005 in München realisierte sie den temporären Ausstellungsgarten Wetterwechsel, der neben der besonderen Materialität aus Juramarmor auch ein klimatisches “Nebelerlebnis” bot. Von 2002 bis 2009 leitete sie die Planungen für einen neuen Zugangsbereich zur KZ-Gedenkstätte Dachau. Ein besonderer Ort, für den sie Ende 2014 als Projektleiterin auch den barrierefreien Umbau übernahm.

Sonja studierte Landschaftsarchitektur an der TU München und erlangte 1996 ihr Diplom.

<<