Landscape Architect bdla ∙ ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA Anneliese Latz

Anneliese Latz

Founder & Senior Director
Landscape Architect bdla ∙ ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA

Anneliese Latz lives and works with her husband Peter Latz in Kranzberg near Munich, Germany. In 2011, they decided to hand over the practice to the younger generation, but she still continues to share her valuable experience to the office.

During her career, she has worked on a wide variety of projects with a focus in urban planning, including the Marburg Hospital rooftops, the University of Marburg campus, the garden of the Federal Bank in Kassel, the garden and courtyards of the new Administration building SOKA-Bau, Wiesbaden, the garden and restored stream along the Wacker office and residential complex in Prinzregentenstrasse, Munich, and the Granta Science Park near Cambridge. The open spaces and scientific garden of the Shell Research and Technology Centre Thornton, Chester, were designed in a wonderful collaboration between Anneliese, Peter and Tilman Latz with the artist philosopher Ian Hamilton Finlay.

In the last decade, her work has focused more on the administration of the growing practice and on the collaboration in publications, public relations and numerous lectures.

In 2016, Anneliese and Peter Latz were awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

Anneliese Latz gained her diploma in landscape architecture from the Technische Universität München in 1963 after studying there almost at the same time as Peter Latz.
She worked as an urban planner at the Deutsche Landentwicklung for a year at the Ministry of Construction in Saarbrücken for a short period of time. In Aachen, she focused on small-scale projects due to family commitments. This work experience provided the basis for the foundation of the office in 1968 and the subsequent 50 years of cooperation with her husband (and from 2011 with her son Tilman).

<<

Landschaftsarchitektin bdla ∙ ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA Anneliese Latz

Anneliese Latz

Practice Founder & Senior Director
Landschaftsarchitektin bdla ∙ ByAK ∙ Hon FRIBA

Anneliese Latz lebt und arbeitet zusammen mit ihrem Mann Peter Latz in Kranzberg. Das gemeinsame Büro wurde 2011 an die jüngere Generation weitergegeben, ihre Erfahrung als Geschäftsführerin bleibt dem Büro jedoch weiterhin erhalten.

In den vielen Jahren gemeinsamer Tätigkeit hat sie vor allem im Bereich Objekt- und Freiraumplanung Projekte bearbeitet und betreut: So die auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen liegenden Dachlandschaften des Großklinikums in Marburg und viele der Freiflächen der Universität auf den Lahnbergen, den Stadtgarten an der Landeszentralbank in Kassel, die Gärten, Dächer und Innenhöfe des Neubaus der Zusatzversorgungskasse des Baugewerbes in Wiesbaden oder die Gartenhöfe an den wieder geöffneten Bächen zum WACKER-Büro- und Wohnkomplex an der Prinzregentenstraße in München; nicht zu vergessen Granta Park, einen Wissenschaftspark in der Nähe von Cambridge und die “Almende der Wissenschaftler” für das Shell Research and Technology Center Thornton, Chester, entstanden in einer wunderbaren Zusammenarbeit von Anneliese, Peter und Tilman Latz mit dem Künstler/Philosophen Ian Hamilton Finlay.

In den letzten zehn Jahren konzentrierte sich ihre Tätigkeit mehr und mehr auf die administrative Leitung des immer größer werdenden Büros, auf Mitarbeit bei Publikationen und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die Arbeit an den zahlreichen Vorträgen,– sowohl eigenen wie vor allem denen ihres Partners.
Sie wurde 2016 zusammen mit Peter Latz mit der Honorary Fellowship des Royal Institute for British Architects (RIBA) ausgezeichnet.

Anneliese Latz machte ihr Diplom in Landschaftsarchitektur nach dem gemeinsamen Studium fast zeitgleich mit Peter Latz 1963 an der Technischen Universität München.
Sie arbeitete ein Jahr lang in der Ortsplanung bei der „Deutschen Landentwicklung“, dann für kurze Zeit am Bauministerium in Saarbrücken. Es waren in Aachen, familienbedingt, zunächst die kleinen Projekte, die sie bearbeitete, die aber die Basis legten für die Bürogründung 1968 und fast 50 Jahre gemeinsame Arbeit mit ihrem Mann, ab 2001 auch mit ihrem Sohn Tilman.

<<