MÜHA

Memorial Place Mühldorfer Hart, DE

Memorial Place Mühldorfer Hart, DE

Understanding links - against oblivion

The bunker construction site in a forest near the small Upper Bavarian town of Mühldorf was the second largest satellite camp of the Dachau concentration camp and it claimed more than 5000 lives towards the end of World War II. The three memorial sites, Forest Camp, Mass Grave and Armament Bunker, represent a complex system of air and rail traffic, production and storage areas, construction site huts, prisoners’ camps and graves, which commemorate forced labour, survival and the death of prisoners.
The site was blown up by the Allies and gradually reclaimed by the forest, making its remains incomprehensible without the help of additional information for interpretation. By superimposing a new abstract layer over the existing landscape, the past is remembered and the inexplicable becomes comprehensible. The actual process of understanding is triggered by the conscious perception of what is seen, simple spatial interventions and only a minimum of essential factual information. The repetition of elements and information highlights the interchangeability of places in relation to their historical context.
Consequently, the new elements are not reconstructions. They are media with the highest demands on form and material. They deliberately use the characteristic materials of the bunker construction site: concrete and some steel in a few places for information signs.

All three memorial sites tell the same story in different ways and are part of an overall network.
Memorial stones, as symbolic representations of the Mühldorfer Hart network, are placed at historically and spatially relevant points. To come across them seems to be coincidental and yet raises awareness of the place and its context.
Spatial interventions such as paths and junctions, clearings and swathes help to fathom the former structure and dimensions. Each of the three memorial sites is preceded by the same introverted information space, which uses images and texts to inform about the entire Mühldorfer Hart site and that particular spot. Thus prepared, visitors pass a “turnstile”, consisting of two U-shaped concrete units, and are discharged to a new level, the actual memorial site.
The constructed paths are part of the process of understanding. They respond to existing site elements, vary in width, adapt and lead to scattered relics in order to facilitate remembrance. Their surface is soft at the start near the forest road, while beyond the turnstile they turn into narrative paths that lead to the memorial site and are made of bespoke concrete units that are slightly raised above the forest floor. Laterally mounted steel bands carry commemorative quotations from contemporary witnesses that remember historically important places and events.

The “Forest Camp VI Memorial Site” serves as an example of several camps where prisoners lived under the most inhumane conditions. By removing vegetation, the main axes and boundaries as well as the earth huts at the winter camp are revealed and give an idea of the camp’s extent. Memorial stones mark the spots of former watchtowers and gates. The path starts at the information room near the old camp gate, runs first along the former main axis, then veers off to the south towards the earth huts and latrines, and turns north to the former roll call ground. White markings on the tree trunks demarcate the extent of the now overgrown roll call ground.

The “Mass Grave Memorial Site” comprises two of a few still discernible mass graves. It now lies peacefully within a forest and yet stands for countless bodies that were buried indiscriminately – a dimension that is difficult to convey. A clearing with lopped off tree trunks demystifies the place, confronting visitors with an unexpected, shocking picture: the 1.7-metre-high tree stumps represent the victims and the madness of a criminal system.

The “Armament Bunker Memorial Site” has not yet been completed. The seventh bunker arch, which is still standing after it was blasted, is the most striking relic at Mühldorfer Hart. A steel walkway will be constructed on the remains of the fifth arch to provide an overview of the extent of the scene of devastation: the former centre of a planned arms factory – and the reason for forced labour and mass death.

1st prize in the invited competition 2012
Design and implementation of the Forest Camp and Mass Graves phases: 2013 – 2018
Tender specification and site management in cooperation with Zankl&Francke, a subcontractor to Latz+Partner
Client: Stiftung Bayerische Gedenkstätten
Total site area: 100 hectares

<<

MÜHA

Gedenkorte im Mühldorfer Hart, DE

Gedenkorte im Mühldorfer Hart, DE

Zusammenhänge verstehen - gegen das Vergessen

Die Bunkerbaustelle in dem Waldstück nahe der oberbayerischen Kleinstadt Mühldorf war das zweitgrößte Außenlager des KZ Dachau und forderte gegen Ende des II. Weltkrieges mehr als 5000 Menschenleben. Drei Gedenkorte, „Waldlager“, Massengrab“ und „Rüstungsbunker“ sollen stellvertretend für ein komplexes System aus Luft- und Schienenverkehr, Produktions- und Lagerstätten, Baubaracken, Häftlingslagern und Gräbern an Zwangsarbeit, Überleben und Tod der Häftlinge erinnern.
Von den Alliierten gesprengt und vom Wald zurückerobert, sind die Reste dieser Vergangenheit ohne zusätzliche Information unverständlich. Durch die Überlagerung des Vorhandenen mit einer neuen abstrakten Ebene wird an das Vergangene erinnert und Unerklärliches verständlich gemacht. Das eigentliche Verstehen erfolgt über die bewusste Wahrnehmung des Gesehenen, einfacher räumlicher Interventionen und auf das Wesentliche reduzierter Sachinformation. Dabei verdeutlicht die Wiederholung von Elementen und Informationen die Austauschbarkeit der Orte in Bezug auf ihren historischen Kontext.
Folgerichtig sind die neuen Elemente keine Rekonstruktionen. Es sind Medien mit höchstem Anspruch an Ausprägung und Material. Sie verwenden bewusst die charakteristischen Materialien der Bunkerbaustelle: Beton und, eher reduziert für textliche Darstellungen, Stahl.

Alle drei Gedenkorte erzählen dieselbe Geschichte auf unterschiedliche Weise und sind Teil eines übergeordneten Netzes.
„Erinnerungssteine“ mit einer symbolischen Darstellung des Netzwerks Mühldorfer Hart stehen an historisch und räumlich relevanten Stellen. Die Begegnung wirkt zufällig und bewirkt doch eine zunehmende Sensibilisierung für die leidvolle Geschichte des Ortes und seiner Zusammenhänge.
Räumliche Interventionen wie Wege und Wegekreuze, Lichtungen und Schneisen helfen, die früheren Strukturen und Dimensionen zu erkennen. Jedem der drei Gedenkorte ist der gleiche introvertierte „Informationsraum“ vorgeschaltet, der mit Bildern und Texten über den gesamten Mühldorfer Hart und den Ort selbst informiert. Erst nach dieser Vorbereitung entlässt die aus zwei u-förmigen Betonelementen bestehende „Schleuse“ den Besucher auf die neue Ebene, den eigentlichen Gedenkort.
Die gebauten Wege sind Teil des Verständnisprozesses. Sie nehmen Rücksicht auf Vorhandenes, variieren in der Breite, passen sich an, erschließen verstreute Relikte, um Erinnern zu ermöglichen. Sie beginnen, noch mit weicher Oberfläche, an der Forststraße und führen nach der „Schleuse“ als leicht über dem Waldboden erhabene „Narrative Wege“ aus maßgefertigten Betonteilen zum Gedenkort. Seitlich montierte „Erinnerungsbänder“ aus Stahl erinnern mit Zitaten von Zeitzeugen an historisch wichtige Punkte und Ereignisse.

Der „Gedenkort Waldlager VI“ steht exemplarisch für mehrere Lager, in denen Häftlinge unter den unmenschlichsten Bedingungen leben mussten. Durch Entnahme von Bewuchs werden Hauptachsen und Grenzen wie auch die Erdhütten des Winterlagers sichtbar und vermitteln eine Ahnung von der großen Ausdehnung des Lagers. Erinnerungssteine markieren Wachtürme und Tore. Der Weg beginnt mit dem Informationsraum auf Höhe des alten Lagertors, verläuft zunächst auf der früheren Wegeachse, dann nach Süden abknickend zu den Erdhütten mit Latrine und nach Norden abknickend zum ehemaligen Appellplatz. Weiße Markierungen auf den Stämmen lassen den heute überwachsenen Appellplatz sichtbar werden.

Der „Gedenkort Massengrab“ umfasst zwei der wenigen noch ablesbaren Massengräber. Er liegt heute friedlich im Wald und steht doch für zahllose wahllos verscharrte Tote – eine Dimension, die kaum zu vermitteln ist. Eine Lichtung aus gekappten Bäumen entzaubert den Ort, konfrontiert den Besucher mit einem unerwarteten schockierenden Bild: Die 1,70 hohen Baumstümpfe stehen stellvertretend für die Opfer und den Wahnsinn eines verbrecherischen Systems.

Der „Gedenkort Rüstungsbunker“ ist noch nicht ausgeführt. Der nach der Sprengung stehengebliebene siebte Bunkerbogen ist das markanteste Relikt im Mühldorfer Hart. Ein auf den Resten des fünften Bogens aufgelagerter Stahlsteg soll nach Fertigstellung auch dieses Gedenkortes einen Überblick über die Dimensionen des Trümmerfeldes geben: ehemals zentraler Ort des geplanten Rüstungswerks und Anlass für Zwangsarbeit und Massensterben.

>> Gedenkorte Mühldorfer Hart eröffnet, 27. April 2018

1. Preis im Einladungswettbewerb 2012
Planung und Realisierung der Teilabschnitte ‚Waldlager‘ und ‚Massengräber‘: 2013 – 2018
Ausschreibung und Bauleitung mit Zankl&Francke als Nachunternehmer von Latz+Partner
Auftraggeber: Stiftung Bayerische Gedenkstätten
Gesamtfläche: 100 Hektar

<<